2023 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Recipient

Table of Contents

4 hours back
SEC Workers

Picture: SEC Personnel

LOS ANGELES, CA (October 4, 2022) – Dawn Staley will acquire the John R. Wood Award “Legends of Coaching” honor in 2023. Coach Wooden’s grandson-in-law Craig Impelman and 2021 recipient Dave Yanai were being very pleased to announce her assortment at the Los Angeles Athletic Club’s yearly Wood Award Suggestion-Off Luncheon. The occasion featured the head coaches from the Division I men’s basketball systems in Southern California. The “Legends of Coaching” honor recognizes coaches who exemplify Mentor Wooden’s high regular of coaching accomplishment and own integrity.

The “Legends of Coaching” award was adopted by the Wooden Award Steering Committee in 1999. The honorees are selected primarily based on character, success on the court docket, graduation charge of university student-athletes in their basketball plan, coaching philosophy, and identification with the plans of the John R. Picket Award. She will be presented the honor together with the 2023 Wood Award winners on April 7, 2023.

Coach Staley, a indigenous of Philadelphia, PA, commenced her coaching job at Temple University, exactly where she led the Owls to 6 NCAA match appearances in her 8 years at the helm. She has guided the College of South Carolina to incredible heights in her 14 many years of coaching there. She has led the Gamecocks to two Countrywide Championships (2017 & 2022), four Ultimate Four appearances, 6 SEC common year championships, 6 SEC event championships and has coached two John R. Wood Award winners (A’ja Wilson in 2018 & Aliyah Boston in 2022). She has also gained a few Olympic gold medals as a coach for the United states Women’s Basketball team, two as an assistant mentor (2008 & 2016) and one as the head coach (2020).

Staley’s exploits also carry more than to her extraordinary on-court occupation. A two-time National Player of the Year at the College of Virginia, she led the Cavaliers to three Remaining Fours and was named Most Outstanding Participant of the 1991 tournament. A six-time WNBA All Star, in 2011 she was named to the WNBA’s Best 15 Players of All-Time, honoring the leading gamers in the league’s 1st 15 several years. On the intercontinental stage, Staley received a few Olympic gold medals (1996, 2000 & 2004). In recognition of her good enjoying occupation, she was inducted into the Naismith Basketball Corridor of Fame in 2013.

Off the court docket, Mentor Staley has been a beacon in her local community. She is the co-founder of INNERSOLE, which aims to offer new sneakers to homeless youngsters and youngsters in have to have. Following her playing career, the WNBA established the Dawn Staley Local community Management Award, which is specified per year to a participant that exemplifies leadership properties in the group she lives or operates.

John R. Wood Award

Legends of Coaching Honorees

2023 Dawn Staley, South Carolina

2022 Rick Byrd, Belmont

2021 Dave Yanai, Cal State Dominguez Hills/Los Angeles

2020 C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers

2019 Lon Kruger, Oklahoma

2018 Jay Wright, Villanova

2017 Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

2016 Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

2015 Steve Fisher, San Diego Point out

2014 Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

2013 Invoice Self, Kansas

2012 Geno Auriemma, Connecticut

2011 Tom Izzo, Michigan Point out

2010 Billy Donovan, Florida

2009 Rick Barnes, Texas

2008 Pat Summitt, Tennessee

2007 Gene Keady, Purdue

2006 Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

2005 Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

2004 Mike Montgomery, Stanford

2003 Roy Williams, Kansas

2002 Denny Crum, Louisville

2001 Lute Olson, Arizona

2000 Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

1999 Dean Smith, North Carolina

About the John R. Picket Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wood Award System hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball recognizing The Wood Award Most Outstanding Player for adult males and gals, The Wooden Award All The us Groups for adult men and ladies and the yearly collection of the Picket Award Legend of Coaching recipient. Honorees have proven to their college that they satisfy or exceed the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Mentor Wood and the Picket Award Steering Committee, like producing development in direction of graduation and preserving at minimum a 2. cumulative GPA. Prior winners incorporate Larry Hen (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07 ’08), Maya Moore (’09 ’11), Chiney Ogwumike (’14), and final year’s recipients, Aliyah Boston of South Carolina and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

Considering that its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed just about 1 million bucks to the universities’ basic scholarship fund in the names of the Picket Award All American recipients and has sent additional than 1,000 underprivileged little ones to week-prolonged higher education basketball camps. In addition, the John R. Picket Award companions with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) every calendar year to host the Wooden Award Exclusive Olympics Southern California Basketball Match. The working day-extensive match brings alongside one another Special Olympics athletes and Wood Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club through the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

The Legends of Coaching Award will be introduced along with the Wooden Award Men’s and Women’s Gamers of the Year on April 7, 2023. For up-to-date information on the Picket Award, be sure to go to www.woodenaward.com and follow the Wood Award on Facebook at www.fb.com/woodenaward and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.